Bear Spray: What it is and how to use it

woodsywisdom

BearSprayI’ve participated in online camping forums and discussion groups for several years now and at least a couple of times a year I will see a post that goes something like this: “I’m camping in bear country this weekend and just picked up some bear spray. I spray it around my tent before I go to bed, right?” And, then my eyes bulge, my jaw drops and I re-read the post just to make sure that I understand it clearly. There seems to be a lot of misinformation out there about bear spray, so I decided to dedicate this post to it. It’s also important to remember that the best way to reduce dangerous bear encounters is to keep a respectful distance from wildlife when possible and keep a very clean campsite.

What is Bear Spray?
Bear spray is a specially designed aerosol formula for dealing with aggressive bears…

View original post 1,293 more words

Leave a Reply

